Dave Shaw.1963-2011.

Loss. How do we quantify loss? I’m not talking about misplacing your keys, or forgetting where your wallet is. neither am I talking about losing that tenner from your back pocket in town. The loss I  refer to is the profound and irreversible loss of a dear,loved friend. I received a telephone call from my sister today,informing me that  my oldest friend had died, some days before. I am told it was cancer, although what type of cancer, I have no clue yet. All I know is that a good friend was taken before his time.
         My memories of Dave Shaw are delightful ones.  Mexborough college road school,1974. We were eleven years old. I have never encountered another human being who was so in love with life, its fun,its laughter..although some was rather laconic and  taciturn  in nature, most was an excited torrent of enthusiasm about life.
We used to go to his house on Kelvin street in our lunch breaks , his long-suffering mum fed us, and allowed us to sit in the front room and listen to Dave’s latest Stranglers albums. I dimly remember us falling out in that year..something or other said in haste i expect, can’t have been much. But it was enough to cause us not to talk for some days.  In the end, I recall us meeting , on the way in from break in the playground. We awkwardly agreed that not being friends was awful, and we made up right then and there. I can gladly state that, right up until his passing, we never had another cross word.
     It was a friendship that would last right up untill he died, although we did lose touch when i left Mexborough six years ago. To my shame, I had no idea he was even ill.  Dave leaves behind a loving wife Sandra,and children Sarah and Ryan and grandchild Kian.  You will never leave my life my friend. If there is Carp fishing in heaven, I am sure Dave wont be far from the bank, sat in his bivvy with a flask. May the Lord keep you and give you peace..you are remembered with love.

Dave Shaw and me in The Montague Arms, Mexborough,

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tricia
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 12:38:20

    So sad for you my love. Losing a close friend is always heart-breaking.

    Reply

  2. Froggy
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 18:46:21

    Very sorry to hear of your loss.

    Reply

  3. mavis hopper
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 18:41:59

    hi i am sandra’s aunty.and i have just come across this ,and showed it to sandra and she would like to thank you very much for your early recollections.of you and david..please could you send me your email address.to give to sandra .

    Reply

  4. steve hodson
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 21:01:39

    only recently heard of Daves passing, I used to work with him at superior foods in the late 70s, early 80s and i have to agree that he was a great guy. I last saw him a couple of years ago and we had a good long chat, so sad to think i’ll never see him again, R.I.P Dave

    Reply

  5. Craig Harrison
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 12:58:07

    Sorry for your loss Sandra hugs and hugs.love craig x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

