The water of strife

Our mains tap water was tainted today. It was fine yesterday, clear and sweet as usual. But today it was decidedly tainted, brownish-yellow, and slightly cloudy. Not willing to drink the water in this state, I decided to nip to the local supermarket and buy bottled water, untill the mains supply cleared up. I was gobsmacked as I walked into the supermarket. There was a gigantic display of  5 litre bottles of a well-known bottled  still water Half Priced. That is what I call enterprise. Top marks Morrison’s.
        Oh come on.. I can’t be funny all the time,or even thought-provoking. I try..Lord knows i try..but I’ve had this ache in the heel of my left foot, and a bit of a sniffle. Anyway..Did you know that it is a little known fact that the Victorians were fatally allergic to cheese? I read it somewhere..In a book. I am going to have a biscuit now…Probably chocolate chip, and a cup of safe coffee.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tricia
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 18:56:03

    This blog is amazing. I so envy your ability to be amusing. Big kisses on our anniversary! From – um – a complete stranger.

    Reply

  2. John Booth
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 19:04:42

    Thankyou my love.Without your support,your inspiration and your love, I would be blogless.

    Reply

  3. Froggy
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 19:45:06

    Who needs funny, well we all do, the world would be a whole lot less without funny, and much less fun. But tainted tapwater is a far more interesting subject than mere wit, is it any better now? Not sure I like the advertising though, you could have been all BBC and say “the supermarket” and strategically not film the signs.

    Obligitory verse interlude:

    Water, water, everywhere,
    And all the boards did shrink;
    Water, water, everywhere,
    Nor any drop to drink.

    Reply

    • John Booth
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 19:54:37

      Quickly removes dead albatross from around my neck, and makes a note with my biro..bic..damn..pen..to refrain from blatant advertising and product placement.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

